Lyrics and Poetry

Independence Day — Just An Ordinary Holiday

Independence Day celebration of this year was a bit boring. I guess the government didn’t put enough budget for the celebration to make it a little bit more exciting and memorable to the Filipino people since it’s the day of our freedom from Spanish Colonialism.

I remember when I was a kid, I was always excited for June 12 because, aside from it is a no-classes-no-work day, my siblings and I were used to watch and, sometimes, join street parades and events. I miss the bands playing kundiman songs, and the fire work display at Quirino Grandstand. Now, it seems so quiet.

I also remember that on that day, many people were selling numerous Philippine flags, shirts with the faces of the heroes and some political party souvenir items. My Grandfather was a big fan of that merchandise, especially the flags.

Moreover, I saw plenty of foreigners who were writing and taking pictures of the famous monuments inManila. I wasn’t sure who they were. Probably, they were tourists who just wanted to join the celebration or exchange students or international reporters who were interested in the Philippine History and culture – I wasn’t really sure.

Now, I barely see people celebrating the Independence Day. Most of them preferred to sit, watch the TV, spend time on Facebook or go to the mall and watch movies.

Lot’s of things have changed now. I think people have really forgotten the importance of Independence Day in our lives. I actually envy those countries who really go party-party every time they celebrate their freedom day.

Well, I guess that’s life as Filipino – just being practical they say.

XOXOXOXO

(Picture above is from pinoy-ofw.com)

Leave a Reply

