Lyrics and Poetry

Prayer

When I was a kid, I thought that prayers were like messages that were being collate and sent to God by messengers (or angels) every night. That’s why I made sure that every prayer I had was long; so when God listens to it I knew it would be answered all at the same time. In fact, before I pray I list the things and names of people whom I wished to include in my prayer, so I wouldn’t forget each of them.

My grandmother, a Roman Catholic, was the one who taught me how to pray.  She’s my inspiration when it comes to dedication in prayers. Just like any other old women, she does it every day and night. She has different kind of rosaries, prayer books, list of saints and a replica of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. She told me once that prayers have a big impact in our family’s financial, spiritual and physical health; and I really believe in that.

In some way, my perception has changed, of course, when I get to know God as I grew up. Right now, I look at prayers as my normal conversation with God. I do pray whenever it is possible – in jeep, FX, CR (while doing the call of nature), and even at work. This communication gives me a certain attachment to God and makes me feel like I’m guided by his grace all the time. It makes my day complete whenever I say even the shortest prayer.

Actually, there are times that I see myself as kid whenever I pray. I asked God several questions as though I don’t know the answers. Sometimes, I even pray to God just to let the rain stop because I didn’t bring an umbrella, and then all of a sudden, the rain would stop right after I say AMEN. (Cool, right?) Lately, I found out that it doesn’t have to be complicated when you try to speak to God. He doesn’t look at any weird rituals and ceremonies; instead, he looks at your heart and the intention of your prayer. In fact, I talk to God as though I’m talking to a loving best friend or a Father.

I would like to admit that whenever I pray I seriously cry like a baby who hasn’t had his milk bottle. Of course, I make sure that whenever I do that no one hears me. It’s some sort of like a special moment for me to make God feel that I’m getting, somehow, tired of what’s happening in my life. It ain’t a suicidal message to God, but I pray as though I’m raising a white flag to God saying that I need a help from him. I feel free to say to Go that “God, I have a problem!” or “I miss you so much, God”, because I know God wants to hear it from me. I’m never afraid to come in to the moment when I feel like saying “God, this situation makes feel like I want to hate you”. I knew God loves talking to me about everything. And one thing is for sure: He never gets tired of listening.

Despite of that kind of relationship, I also admit that most of the times I still forget to pray. I’ll just notice that I needed to go back on track only when something wrong is happening. It doesn’t mean, however, that God is using those instances to call me. Whenever such times come, God reminds me that he’s there to rescue; therefore, I pray.

At this age of 26, I feel the need to have an intense relationship with God. Of course, in order to start, I need to learn how to communicate with God and ask for his guidance – and that’s through prayers. It doesn’t matter about your religion – all religion I know requires their people to pray and or do rituals – or how they taught you how to communicate with God, but what matter is that you have a relationship with him.

To know more about prayers, this link might be helpful for you: Click Click Click.

XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO

2 responses

  1. silver price

    God delights in answering the prayers of his children! As our heavenly Father, God loves to talk with his children and respond to our requests. “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

    06/07/2012 at 4:15 AM

  2. nice.🙂 prayers really help. but it should not be just a routine but more of a conversation with Him🙂

    13/07/2012 at 12:19 AM

Leave a Reply

