Lyrics and Poetry

BBM on iPhone and Android Phones

The long wait is finally over for iPhone and Android phone users because BBM is finally available in iTunes, Google play and Samsung store. (Yey!)

BBM Ejomlexus (1)

Truthfully, mixed emotions is what I felt on this release — I’m happy because I will now get to experience BBM since I haven’t touched a Blackberry smartphone before, and sad because, well, we know the falling story of Blackberry and that’s why they ended up making their supposedly exclusive app available to every mobile phones. And despite of the trending release of other messaging apps (i.e. Line, Kakao Talk, Viber and Wechat), BBM reportedly have been download 5 million times in just 8 hours, enough to say that many have really waited for this.

REGISTRATION

BBM Ejomlexus (2) BBM Ejomlexus (3) BBM Ejomlexus (4)

As first time user of BBM, I needed to line-up on a queue of an unknown number, I’ve submitted my email for registration, and I was able to “Create a Blackberry ID” and got my very own BBM Pin after a couple of days.

BBM Ejomlexus (6)

For those, who have BBM already, no longer have to wait that long. Just hit the “Sign In” button and you’re up.

(By the way, that’s my BBM PIN — add me)

SPEED

It’s faster versus the messaging apps I’ve mentioned. I think it’s because it requires few 3G MB to run.

FEATURES/UI

For the first time user like me, few things I’ve discovered:

1. Ping – just like YM, it has Buzz to alert your chatmates if you’re online or just want to caught their attention. It alerts you with the usual BBM or assigned tone; not with a loud awkward buzzer.

BBM Ejomlexus (8)

2. Light (LED) indicator – choose colours that will differentiate your BBM alert to the rest of your message app. The colours are white, yellow, green, cyan, blue and purple; or none. For me, I chose white since none of my app is using that colour.

3. Tabs – 2 purposes. #1 to check if your active chats, groups, invites or updates on the activity, and #2 to configure the settings and access help.

BBM Ejomlexus (9) BBM Ejomlexus (10)

4. Ads – so far, so good. I ain’t seeing any ads at the moment since week 1. But for sure there’s a reason behind with all these release. Later on we will find out.

5. R, D and check – You’ll be able to see this while chatting. It normally stands for Read, Delivered and Sent. These identify whether your message has reached the receiver.

BBM Ejomlexus (7)

6. Emoticon – What messaging can stand without this feature? None, of course. But these are none moving ones, just enough to say what you feel in a fraction of a symbol.

BBM Ejomlexus (11)

7. Group chat – I don’t know the number of volume of people you can invite to join a group conversation, but as far as I know it can accommodate as many as you want.

8.  Attach – You can attach a note and picture and send it via chat.

9. Status – You are also allowed to share what your currently feeling in this feature. You can tell people if you’re busy or not really. You can, by the way,  tell people your activities.

BBM Ejomlexus (13)

10. Invite – You may choose among Barcode Scan, PIN, Email, SMS and NFC to invite people to add you or join you on BBM.

11. Profile Picture – Aside from your status, you can also set your favorite picture as your DP.

BBM Ejomlexus (12)

MY POINT OF VIEW

Well, it is a great app so far – a must-try. I invited some of my friends to try it as well, so we can experience how fast it is compare to other messaging app.

I just hope for the best for the Blackberry about this. That’s it!

XOXOXOXOXO

Leave a Reply

