Lyrics and Poetry

Dream: Ash Fall (Part 02 of 02)

READ PART ONE? CLICK HERE.
Ash Fall
Ash fall was everywhere already — in the sky; covering the clouds, roof of every abandoned cars and houses; on streets; and on my truck’s windshield. The only reason I could imagine that time was a volcano erupted. But it still puzzled me why my younger brother told It SHOULD really HAPPEN.

I stopped driving in the middle of nowhere when I started seeing people walking from tents to tents gathering supplies, like boxes of can goods and gallons of water. They were all rushing as if the place didn’t have plenty of supplies.

As I park the car to check what their doing, I overheard the parking lot guard who was talking to another guard saying that his family was already missing. He even mentioned they were already taken. I became worried.

“Pa, do we really need to grab supplies here? I think we have enough.”

“We will grab a little bit more. Just stay here in the car.” He alighted the car and swiftly went to the tent filled with boxes of goods. My Mom never let her eyes off of him. I saw her worried and somehow praying.

“Where are we going from here?” I said while looking at the back mirror. My siblings were pointing out each other  with their eyes, arguing who would answer my question. So, I repeat my question.

“Uhm, we’ll go back to *******. That’s the safest place. All these things will disappear. Trust us with this.” my younger sister replied tapping my shoulder at the end of her line.

It didn’t last for long, my father went back to the truck with 2 boxes of can goods and a gallon of water. He threw everything at the back of the truck and signals me to start the engine. He got in the car and said, “Those are the only ones with long expiration. The rest will expire in 2 or 5 days. Good thing, I picked it up right away!” He sighs, “Now let’s go back to ******.”

*****************************************

Back to *******. I filled the tank full since it was a long drive going the place where we got the supplies and then all the way back. No explanation had still registered to me what was going and what’s the ash fall and everything-has-to-happen all about. I just followed every move and direction they wanted me to follow. I think I was the only one who didn’t have an idea about it.

“Leave the car here. Put a mark that says “******”. It’ll be safe.” My younger sister told me. And wrote the name of the place that also came out silent from her mouth.

“What’s going on in this place? Why is it called “******”?” I asked.

“You will find out soon.”

I pursed my lips and tried to cover myself so the ash fall would not go all over my head. My Mom stayed closer to my Dad as we walked toward a small village. The village was filled with Japanese-like old houses, and I thought it was an old resort. As we get closer to the big wooden gate, someone sneaked at us from the small whole right beside the gate. He rotated his eyes to see if were more than a group.

“Show your foreheads! Get your faces closer to the gate” Immediately with lift our bangs away from our forehead so could clearly see even the pimple marks I was trying to hide. “They are all clean. No marks. Let them in.”

When the gate opened, I saw gigantic smoke coming from the center of the village. It was the ashes. Inside there were will an old Japanese houses, but with more trees and vegetation in some area.

“How come you know this is the safest place?”

“We know, Kuya!” said my brother. But I still didn’t get what he meant by that. “Just keep quiet. Everything will be explained”.

*****************************************

I woke up in the middle of the night in the room those men provided us. I could see the glow of the fire coming inside the window, reflecting shadows on the ceiling. I was trying to build the puzzles they were telling me and what they were keeping secret to me. So I got up and checked the glass window, covered pen writing of the name of the place. When I turned my head, I wasn’t in my room anymore. I walked toward where the ashes was being sent to the sky.

As I get nearer and nearer, I could feel the warm and burning breeze of the fire and light. And then, I saw a drained Olympic-size pool — that’s where the burning things coming from.

I went closer and closer until I could clearly see what was producing all the ashes.

They were lots of people — the missing ones, the family of the guard I encountered when I was in the parking lot. There were like more or less a hundred pf them.

But they weren’t hurt or feeling any pain from the fire. They just continue moving around the pool. Some of them were eating, some of them were sleeping and the rest were praying. The fire, however, was coming right out of their skin. It turned their skin into ashes, but it was being replaced right away.

*****************************************

Then, I woke up in reality.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Dream: Ash Fall (Part 01 of 02) | Ejomlexus

  2. Pingback: Dream: Ash Fall Interpretation | Ejomlexus

Leave a Reply

