Lyrics and Poetry

Without Makeup

Without Makeup

Title: Without Makeup
By: Francis Moje (via request of a fabulous girl friend)

I went out of the house, no one seemed to recognize the woman in me.
I borrowed an identity, trying not to be me and no one said “Hi!” to me.
I tried laughing outside my life, but deep within I wanna suicide.
No Makeup by the way is the suicide that I am talking about.

No tint, no lipstick, no covering of the blemishes of my skin.
No blow dried hair, no sleek foundation on my silly face.
Maybe if beautiful is defined within, maybe we’re all kings and queens.
Maybe it’s about time for me to show up and define myself now
Without Makeup.

The world, most of the time, thinks about the opposite side.
They think inner beauty is the best, but are disgust with people who don’t have tag on their dress.
Same thing goes with my makeup — I’m the best when my lips are red.
But today, I will walk outside with sans on my skin.

It’s no bronzer, no blush, no eye shadow today for me.
No curls, no fake eyelashes and glittery paints.
Maybe if beautiful is defined within, maybe we’re all kings and queens.
Maybe it’s about time for me to show up and define myself now
Without Makeup.

Leave a Reply

